The Child Tax Rebate is a one-time rebate that is intended to assist Connecticut families with children. The rebate was created as part of the budget bill (Section 415 of H.B. No. 5506) that Connecticut governor, Ned Lamont, signed into law last month. This rebate provides taxpayers with a state tax rebate of up to $250 per child for up to three children, a maximum of $750.

How to Apply

To apply for this rebate, taxpayers must submit an application to the Department of Revenue Services. The application is currently available on the DRS website and must be submitted electronically. Application must be filed between June 1st, 2022, to July 31st, 2022. Applications will not be accepted after July 31, 2022 and there will be no catch up on the 2022 CT Income tax return.

To qualify, an applicant must meet the following requirements:
• Applicant must be domiciled in Connecticut at the time of filing you application.
• Must have properly claimed at least one child who was 18 years of age or younger as a dependent on your 2021 federal income tax return.
• Taxpayer must meet the following income thresholds

Income Thresholds

The income limits associated with the Child Tax Rebate are based on the filing status from your 2021 federal income tax return. You may qualify for the CT Child Tax Rebate if…
• the filing status from your 2021 federal income tax return was Single or Married Filing Separately, and your income was less than or equal to $100,000 (phased out at $110,000)
• the filing status from your 2021 federal income tax return was Head of Household, and your income was less than or equal to $160,000 (phased out at $170,000)
• the filing status from your 2021 federal income tax return was Married Filing Jointly or Qualifying Widow(er), and your income was less than or equal to $200,000 (phased out at $210,000)

Eligible Children

Eligible children must be 18 years of age or younger as of December 31, 2021. The child may be your son. Daughter, stepchild, foster child, brother, sister, stepbrother, stepsister, half-brother, or half-sister, or a descendant of any of them (grandchild, niece, or nephew). You must have claimed them as a dependent on your 2021 tax return, if you did not claim them in 2021, you are not eligible for the rebate.

Visit the DRS website to check eligibility and to apply for the CT Child Tax Rebate.

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Subscribe to Our Blog!


Check Out Our Other Blogs!

Contact Us

Whether you know exactly what accounting service you need or have a tough question, The Innovative CPA Group team is here and ready to help. Let’s collaborate to accomplish your personal or business goals.

reCAPTCHA is required.
2022-06-08T16:32:24+00:00
Go to Top